

Annual General Meeting

of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc

Held at 2pm on Saturday 14th July, 2018 Adelaide Hills Convention Centre 145A Mount Barker Road Hahndorf South Australia

MINUTES

1.Welcome

The President welcomed those in attendance to the 47th Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc Annual General Meeting.

The President acknowledged Life Members present: Dot and Doug Willcoxson and Peter Harkness.

2. Present

New South Wales

D.&A. Casper, B. Dwyer, C. Ffrost, C. Fitzpatrick, B.&L. Hammond, G.&J. Harris, C. Hyles, P.&P. Honeyman, G.&A. McDonald, J. Muspratt, P. Salter, J.&J. Tonkiss, D.&D. Willcoxson

South Australia

V. Blows, D. Frahn, C. Gibbons, E.&M. Grivell, D.&L. Hartshorne, G. Jones, L&R. King, D. Norris, K. Norris, W. Payton, R. Rainey, D. Thompson, J. Van Raalte, C. Wallis, M. Wheaton

Queensland

V. Camac

Tasmania

J. Cawsey, P. Kentish, M. MacDonald,

Victoria

P. Armstrong, R.&M. Bowen, R. Clarke, B. Drury, G. Hack, P. Harkness, J. Henderson, D.&D. Hoffrichter, B.&J. Kinblad, P. Lee, B. Lewis, S. McIntyre, P. Marshall, M. Morgan, M.&K. Rogers, P. Silver, M. Sperrin, J. Tumney, L. Waters, S. Waters, K. Wholagan,

Western Australia

M. Langan

3. Apologies

L. Barrey, H. Betts, J.&W. Bourke, T.&B. Brand, A. Cain, L. Cairns, M. Cropper, H.&S. Crossley, E. Crossley, R.&L. Dominish, T.&C. Dowling, J. Dwyer, T. Dwyer, K. Frahn, S. Ffrost, D. Fuller, D. Gibbons, G. Gilroy, P. Grieves, J. Guihot, B. Hack, D. Hawkins, M. Hayler, S. Henderson, J. Horsburgh, K.&P. Jacobs, A. James, D. Jones, V. Lee, S. MacDonald, G. Marshall, C. Marshall, B. Morgan, H. Murrell, G. Norris, A.&L. Ongley, D.&N. Potter, K. Robinson, G. Robson, W.&T. Smith and H.&E. Trigg,

4. Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 24th June, 2017

Motion:

Moved:

P. Harkness, J. Cawsey

That the Minutes of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc Annual General Meeting held on 24th June, 2017 be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

5. President's Report

The Federal President Brendan Dwyer presented his President's Report for 2017-2018 to the Meeting. Included as part of the report was the launch of the ACDS Junior Driver support scheme.

Motion:

Moved:

FedPres, P. Honeyman

That the Federal President's Report to the 2018 Annual General Meeting be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

6. Notices of Motion

Special Resolution to amend the ACDS Rules and Regulations

That: Clause 16.10 of the ACDS Rules and Regulations be amended to read as follows:

"A person may not hold office as Vice President or Treasurer for more than five consecutive years and thereafter is ineligible for election as any such office bearer for a period of one year.

There is no term limit applicable to the position of Secretary."

Moved: Douglas Willcoxson Seconded: Dorothy Willcoxson

The Federal President advised the Meeting that the Ballots received in relation to the Special Resolution have been counted and the Resolution has been approved by more than the required 75% majority. Accordingly the Special Resolution was declared carried.

7. Treasurer's Report

The Federal Treasurer provided commentary and additional explanation on the ACDS Financial Reports tabled and the 2018-19 Budget:

(a) Tabling of Annual Report of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc for the year ended 30th April, 2018

Motion:

Moved:

FedTreas, C. Gibbons

That the tabled Annual Report of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc for the year ended 30th April, 2018 be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

(b) Budget for 2018-2019

Motion:

Moved:

FedTreas, Douglas Willcoxson

That the tabled 2018-2019 Budget for the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

(c) Setting of Fees for 2018-2019

Motion:

Moved:

FedTreas, P. Silver

That the 2018-2019 Membership Fees for the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc be as follows:

i. Family Membership \$245.00
ii. Single Membership \$165.00
iii. Junior Membership \$80.00
iv. Associate Membership \$90.00
v. Journal Subscription \$70.00
vi. Officials Membership \$90.00
vii. One Activity Membership \$30.00

Resolved Motion Carried

8. Election of Office Bearers - (Nominations received by 15th April, 2018)

The Chair declared all positions vacant:

President:

Peter Lee Nominated: Karen Rogers Seconded: Lorraine Cairns As only one Nomination received, Peter Lee is elected as Federal President.

Vice-President:

Kate Wholagan Nominated: Phil Marshall Seconded: Cody Marshall As only one Nomination received, Kate Wholagan is elected as Federal Vice-President.

Secretary:

At the close of time for the receipt of nominations for the position of Secretary, no nominations had been received. Accordingly, nominations for this position were called for off the floor.

Sue Waters Nominated by M. Bowen, C. Gibbons

No further nominations were received.

Therefore Sue Waters is elected as Federal Secretary for 2018-2019.

Treasurer:

At the close of time for the receipt of nominations for the position of Treasurer, no nominations had been received. Accordingly, nominations for this position were called for off the floor.

Leonie Hartshorne Nominated by K. Wholagan, M. MacDonald

No further nominations were received

Therefore Leonie Hartshorne is elected as Federal Treasurer for 2018-2019.

9. Appointment of Public Officer

Nomination received from: Anne Eldridge

As only one Nomination received, Anne Eldridge is elected as ACDS Public Officer.

10. Presentations

The outgoing Federal President, Brendan Dwyer, made several presentations on behalf of Federal Council and members in acknowledgement of the contributions made by the following persons to the ACDS.

- Dot Willcoxson on her retirement as Federal Dressage Convenor.
- Peter Lee An Award of Merit on his retirement as Federal Treasurer.
- Judy Dwyer on her retirement as ACDS Journal Editor.
- Leonie Hartshorne a thank you gift for her efforts in organising the 2018 Federal Conference.
- Sue Waters for her service as Federal Secretary.

Incoming Federal President, Peter Lee, on behalf of Federal Council and Members acknowledged the retirement of Brendan Dwyer as Federal President with a presentation in appreciation of his service to the ACDS.

Outgoing Federal President, Brendan Dwyer, on behalf of Federal Council and Members presented Sue Waters with an Honorary Life Membership of the ACDS.

11. Meeting Closed at 2.52p.m.

Sue Waters – ACDS Federal Secretary