

AUSTRALIAN CARRIAGE DRIVING SOCIETY INC.

2017 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Annual General Meeting of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc Held on Saturday 24th June, 2017 – Commencing at 2.00 p.m. Charles Napier Hotel, Main Street, Sovereign Hill Museum, Ballarat

MINUTES

1. Welcome

The President welcomed those in attendance of the 46th Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc Annual General Meeting.

2. Present

Members:

V. Blows, D. Boardman, M. Bowen, T. Brand, B.&C. Browning, J. Cassidy, N. Colla, B. Dwyer, J. Dwyer, C. Ffrost, S. Fraser, C. Goodall, B.&L. Hammond, P. Harkness, L. Hartshorne, J. Heath, C.&S. Henderson, D.&D. Hoffrichter, K. &P. Jacobs, T. James, P. Kentish, B.&J. Kindblad, R. Lane, M. Lawrence, P.&V. Lee, B. Lewis, N. Linic, C.&P. Marshall, A. McGuire, C. McKernan, R. Rainey, K.&M. Rogers, P. Streefkerk, L.&H. Trigg, J. Tumney, T. Tuohy, L. Waters, S. Waters, K. Wholagan, D.&D. Willcoxson, D. Wise, G. Wise

Visitor:

B. Allen

3. Apologies

K. Blake, R.&G. Butler, L. Cairns, L.&M. Callaghan, J. Cawsey, M. Cropper, S.&H. Crossley, T.&C. Dowling, T. Ellis, V. Fromhold, G.&D. Fuller, C. Gray, G.&B. Hack, C. Jones, S. McIntyre, M. MacDonald, G. Marshall, J.&G. Martin, M.&B. Morgan, M.&Y. Newell, D.&G. Norris, K. Norris, P. &T. Tester, N. Tester, L.&R. Tyas, M. Webster, G. Woodstock

4. Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 9th July, 2016

Motion:

Moved:

P. Harkness, B. Lewis

That the Minutes of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc Annual General Meeting held on 9th July, 2016 be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

5. President's Report

The Federal President Brendan Dwyer presented his Report for 2016-2017 to the Meeting.

Acknowledgement was given to the ACDS Life Members present: T. James, D. & D. Willcoxson, J. Dwyer and P. Harkness.

An Award of Appreciation was presented to Trevor Brand on his retirement from his position as Federal Vice-President.

The President thanked the Conference Organising Committee members for their efforts and presented Sue Waters, Peter Lee, Karen Rogers and Bernadette Lewis with thank you gifts.

Motion:Moved:FedPres, T. JamesThat the Federal President's Report to the 2017 Annual General Meeting be accepted.ResolvedMotion Carried

6. Notices of Motion

- **6.1** That the Rules of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc. be amended as follows:
 - 1. by inserting the words "public officer' after the words "office bearer" in the first line of Clause 20;
 - 2. by deleting existing Clause 20f;
 - 3. by inserting a new Clause 20f to read "becomes bankrupt or personally insolvent; and
 - 4. by inserting "63A or 64 (2)" after the words "63(1)" in Clause 20g.

Moved: Peter Lee - Federal Treasurer, Sue Waters - Federal Secretary

6.2 That the Rules of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc. be amended as follows by the inclusion of a new Clause 10A:

"10A Lapsed Membership

Where a person does not renew their membership by 31 August, the person ceases to hold any membership rights. Upon the person complying with the requirements of Clause 5, the person's membership rights are reinstated from the date referred to in Clause 5.1(d) until the end of the current Membership Year."

Moved: Peter Lee - Federal Treasurer, Sue Waters – Federal Secretary

The Federal President advised the Meeting that the Ballots received in relation to the two Special Resolutions have been counted and both Resolutions have been unanimously approved.

7. Treasurer's Report

(a) Tabling of Annual Report of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc for the year ended 30th April, 2017

Motion:

Moved:

FedTreas, S. Fraser

That the tabled Annual Report of the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc for the year ended 30th April, 2017 be accepted.

Resolved Motion Carried

(b) Budget for 2017-2018
Motion:
Moved:
FedTreas, D. Willcoxson
That the tabled 2017-2018 Budget for the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc be accepted.
Resolved Motion Carried

(c) Setting of Fees for 2017-2018

Motion:

Moved: FedTreas, P. Kentish

That the 2017-2018 Membership Fees for the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc be as follows:

- i. Family Membership \$245.00
- ii. Single Membership \$165.00
- iii. Junior Membership \$80.00
- iv. Associate Membership \$90.00
- v. Journal Subscription \$70.00
- vi. Officials Membership \$90.00
- vii. One Activity Membership \$30.00

Resolved Motion Carried

8. Election of Office Bearers

President:

Brendan Dwyer Nominated: Merryn Bojcun Seconded: Cate Goodall As only one Nomination received, Brendan Dwyer is elected as Federal President.

Vice-President:

Kate WholaganNominated: Glenda MarshallSeconded: Phil MarshallAs only one Nomination received, Kate Wholagan is elected as Federal Vice-President.

Secretary:

Sue WatersNominated: Scott McIntyreSeconded: Lisa WatersAs only one Nomination received, Sue Waters is elected as Federal Secretary.

Treasurer:

Peter LeeNominated: Vicky LeeSeconded: Peter HarknessAs only one Nomination received, Peter Lee is elected as Federal Treasurer

9. Appointment of Public Officer

- Motion:
- Moved:
- P. Lee, B. Lewis

That Anne Eldridge be appointed as the Public Officer for the Australian Carriage Driving Society Inc for 2017-2018.

Resolved Motion Carried

Hilton Trigg spoke on behalf of the Meeting to voice appreciation for the efforts of the Federal Executive and Federal Council over the past twelve months.

Meeting Closed at 2.41p.m.

Sue Waters Federal Secretary.